Outdoor Track and Field > Finishline News > State Athletes to Vie for Titles at 84th New England Interscholastic XC Championships


| More

State Athletes to Vie for Titles at 84th New England Interscholastic XC Championships

Created at 11/8/2018 10:36 PM  by Ron Knapp 
Last modified at 11/8/2018 10:36 PM  by Ron Knapp 

logo Team and individual qualifiers from the recent CIAC State Open Cross Championship are slated to compete at the New England Interscholastic XC Championships on Saturday, November 10, 2018 at Derryfield Park in Manchester NH. The 84th version of the meet, first held for boys at Boston in 1935 and for girls in 1977 at Montpelier, features our state champions, Eli Nahom of New Milford and Kate Wiser of Pomperaug as well as the Xavier Boys and Danbury Girls teams. The remaining state contingent include the top twenty-five finishers and the first six teams from the State Open Championship (CT Boys Entries, CT Girls Entries).

In the Boys Championship Race, the top three finishers from 2017, including champion Drew Thompson of Fairfield Prep, have graduated while Xavier, the defending team champion, returns to add to their CIAC State Open title. Individual state champions who will challenge Nahom include Lisandro Berry-Gaviria (Mt. Ararat, ME), Forest MacKenzie (Concord, NH), Joseph dosReis (La Salle, RI) and Henry Farrington (Essex, VT). Xavier will contend with Bishop Hendricken and La Salle of Rhode Island as well as Essex Vt and Concord NH for the team title.

The Girls Championship Race features defending champion Julia Robitaille of Manchester West (NH) who should be challenged by freshman Sophia Reynolds of Merrimack Valley (NH) as well as our state champion Kate Wiser as well as other state champions Elizabeth Sullivan (Portsmouth, RI), and Sofia Matson (Falmouth, ME). The Pinkerton NH Girls team returns to defend their title against state teams Danbury and Immaculate as well as Champlain Valley (VT), Exeter (NH), Coe-Brown (NH) and Portsmouth (RI).

The Boys Championship Race starts at 11:30am followed by the Girls Championship Race at 12:30pm. The start lists of Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont qualifiers for both races are also available at the Lancer Timing Service website.

The meet details are available at the Council of New England Secondary School Principals’ Association website.